of the Commissioner, as Chairman, with two Assistant Commissioners and three Councillors as members. Each of the members is assigned portfolios by the Chairman.

The territorial government forgoes its taxing authority on private and corporate incomes and collection of corporate taxes and succession duties in deference to annual federalterritorial financial agreements. Under these agreements the federal government contributes the funds necessary to cover the deficit arising from the forecast of revenues available to the Territory and the forecast cost of services to be provided.

Administration. The territorial public service, comprising approximately 1,200 employees, is organized into 11 conventional administrative departments and a number of special service departments. Whitehorse is the administrative centre of the government. A few departments have necessary regional postings and territorial agents represent the government in outlying

Health services and land are administered jointly by the territorial and federal governments. Health services are administered and operated by the Yukon Hospital Insurance/Health Care Insurance Services Department in conjunction with the Department of National Health and Welfare. The program will eventually be transferred to the territorial department.

Certain areas have been designated to the Commissioner for administration under the Territory's Lands Ordinance. The remaining land is under the jusisdiction of the Department

of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

In addition to these shared responsibilities, the federal government, through the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, retains control of the natural resources of the Yukon, except game. Local administration is carried out by federal public servants.

Legislature. The Yukon Act delineates the jurisdiction of the Council. It is like those of provincial assemblies with two exceptions; matters touching on natural resources are reserved to the federal government, and budgetary matters are reserved to the Commissioner. Council is called into session and prorogued by the Commissioner.

Legislative authority for the Yukon is vested in the Commissioner in Council. All bills must be approved by Council and be assented to by the Commissioner before becoming law. As in other jurisdictions, the Governor in Council may disallow any ordinance within one year.

Ordinances are printed on a sessional basis and consolidated annually.

Amendments to the Yukon Act passed by Parliament in 1974 provided for an immediate expansion of the membership of Council from seven to 12 and for future expansion to 20 members at the discretion of Council. Members are elected for a four-year term of office. The Council nominates three of its members to the Executive Committee who will each administer one of the following portfolios: Education, Local Government, and Health, Welfare and Rehabilitation. The Council meets at least twice a year usually in the territorial capital, Whitehorse. A daily record of Council sessions is published under the authority of the Speaker and the Queen's Printer.

Commissioner, Council and Council staff of the Yukon Territory as at December 31, 1974

Commissioner, J. Smith

Assistant Commissioner (Executive), P.J. Gillespie Assistant Commissioner (Administrative), M.E.

Clerk of Council, L.J. Adams

Legal Adviser to the Commissioner and Council, P.

O'Donoghue

Executive Committee: J. Smith, chairman; P.J. Gillespie, M.E. Miller, F. Whyard, G. McIntyre, J.K. McKinnon, members; L.J. Adams,

Members of Council: A. Berger, B. Fleming, J. Hibberd, D. Lang, E. Millard, S. McCall, W. Phelps, D. Taylor, F. Whyard, G. McIntyre, J.K. McKinnon.

## 3.3.2.2 Northwest Territories

The Northwest Territories Act (RSC 1970, c.N-22) provides for an executive, legislative and judicial structure. The Commissioner is the chief executive officer, appointed by the federal government and responsible for the administration of the Northwest Territories under the direction of the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development. In practice, all major policy decisions are taken on the advice of this Council. The Commissioner can spend funds only to the extent voted by Council and all new revenue measures are subject to Council